The ESIL Interest Group on International Courts and Tribunals (IGICT) provides an opportunity for members of the European Society of International Law to discuss central issues related to international courts and tribunals.

The increasing number of international courts and tribunals (ICs) in recent years has sparked great interest because of the many theoretical and practical ramifications deriving from it. The ESIL Interest Group on International Courts and Tribunals fosters further discussion of the legal aspects of these ICs among European scholars and practitioners.

The conveners of the IGICT for 2020-2024 are:

Dr. Veronika Fikfak

Veronika Fikfak is an Associate Professor in Human Rights Law at the Centre of Excellence, iCourts at the University of Copenhagen. She previously taught at the University of CambridgeVeronika Fikfak-3291 as a Lecturer and then Senior Lecturer. Prior to this, Dr Fikfak worked at the European Court of Human Rights, the International Court of Justice, at UNESCO and at the Law Commission for England and Wales. She holds a Magister Juris, M.Phil and a D.Phil from the University of Oxford. She is currently in charge of a five-year project funded by the ERC called Human Rights Nudge, which looks at the impact of different remedies on states’ human rights compliance practices. 

Dr. Edouard Fromageau

Before joining the University of Aberdeen as Lecturer in 2020, Edouard was a Senior ResearchIMG_3761 2 Fellow at the Max Planck Institute Luxembourg for Procedural Law, which he joined in 2015 after a postdoctoral stay at NYU School of Law. Edouard obtained a dual Ph.D. (summa cum laude, Prix Bellot) in public international law from the University of Geneva (Switzerland) and Aix-Marseille Université (France) in 2014. He was a Research and Teaching Assistant at the public international law Department of the Faculty of Law of the University of Geneva between January 2009 and December 2014. Edouard was also a Visiting Researcher at the Humboldt University of Berlin in 2012, and a Guest Lecturer at the University of Kobe in 2017.

Dr. Machiko Kanetake

Machiko Kanetake is Assistant Professor of Public International Law at Utrecht University. At Utrecht University, she assumes various responsibilities, including a member of the GetImageManagement Board of the Utrecht Centre for Regulation and Enforcement in Europe (RENFORCE) and the programme coordiantor for the Master’s Programme in Public International Law. Among a number of external responsibilities, she serves as an Editorial Board member of the Leiden Journal of International Law. Machiko has received Ph.D. from Kyoto University, LLM at the London School of Economics (LSE), and MA in Law from the University of Sheffield. Machiko has been appointed as a postdoctoral researcher and lecturer at the University of Amsterdam (2011-14). She has also been appointed as a Hauser Visiting Doctoral Researcher (2010-11) of the Global Fellows Program at New York University (NYU) School of Law, a Visiting Researcher (2012) of the University of Sydney, a Visiting Fellow (2014-2015) at the Human Rights Program, Harvard Law School, and a Visiting Fellow (2015) at the Transnational Law Institute, the Dickson Poon School of Law, King’s College London.

Dr Cecily Rose

Profile picture for BrightspaceCecily Rose is an assistant professor at Leiden Law School (The Netherlands). She conducts research in the areas of international dispute settlement and transnational criminal law and teaches courses at Leiden Law School on International Dispute Settlement (LL.M. programme) and Public International Law (LL.B. programme). In recent years Cecily has also served as a consultant for the UN Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights, the World Bank and the UN Office on Drugs and Crime. Cecily holds a Ph.D. and an LL.M. in international law from the University of Cambridge, a J.D. from Columbia Law School, and a B.A. (English) from Yale University. Prior to joining Leiden Law School, Cecily Rose worked as an associate legal officer at the International Court of Justice in The Hague. Cecily also previously worked as an associate legal officer at the Special Court for Sierra Leone in Freetown, Sierra Leone and in private practice, as an associate in the International Regulation and Compliance group of Steptoe & Johnson, LLP, in Washington, D.C.

Prof. Stephan Wittich

Stephan Wittich is Professor of Public International Law at the University of Vienna. He holds a PhD of the same university and teaches various courses in public international law. He is also an Adjunct Professor and member of the study commission at the Vienna School of International Studies/Diplomatic Academy where he holds classes on the law of image001international organizations and international criminal justice. Prior to joining the University of Vienna as lecturer (1997) and assistant professor (2001), he was a judicial clerk at various courts in Vienna, including the District Court for criminal matters and the Regional Court for civil matters. Stephan has been invited as visiting professor several times in the past, most recently by the University of Bologna (2020). He has been co-editor of the Austrian Review of International and European Law ( since 2011 and is editor of the Austrian practice in international law published in the Review. He was legal adviser to the Principality of Liechtenstein in the Certain Property case before the ICJ (2001-2005).

Election Schedule:

This Interest Group was set up in October 2013 and the first meeting of the group took place in September 2014.

The founding Coordinating Committee, September 2014 – September 2016: Fulvio Palombino, Yuval Shany, and Geir Ulfstein.

Coordinating Committee, October 2016 – October 2018:  Serena Forlati, Holger Hestermeyer and Hélène Ruiz Fabri.

Coordinating Committee, October 2018 – December 2020:  Edouard Fromageau, Andrea Gattini, Machiko Kanetake and Stephan Wittich. 

The current Coordinating Committee was elected in December 2020.